Saturday, June 21, 2014

Friday Five Books (1): Deep Blue, The Burning Sky, The Perilous Sea, Guardian, and Indelible



One of the first memes I was introduced to as a blogger was the Friday Five. I'm not sure where it originated. The Friday Five can pretty much be any five things that are somehow bringing you joy or that you're looking forward to or that you like. They can be related to each other or not.

So, putting on a twist on that, I've decided to start my first meme -- a quick and easy one.

The Friday Reads 5 is a quick list of the next five books on your TBR pile or the five books you are currently reading. So for me, this week, the Friday Reads 5 will consist of one book I'm reading right now and the next four in the queue. If you decide to do it, feel free to steal the graphic above and link back.

A link up is below!

You can make this as detailed or quick as possible -- a list, images, whatever. I'm going to do the cover image, author info, and a synopsis. If I'm already reading it, I'm going to give my initial impression. Feel free to make it your own! (But if you like my format, you can copy that as well!)

Deep Blue (Waterfire Saga #1) by Jennifer Donnelly

Find it on Goodreads!
BUY: Books of Wonder | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble
(At the time this post was printed on 6/20/2014, Books of Wonder still had signed copies available, according to their website! SNATCH ONE UP!)
The first in a series of four epic tales set in the depths of the ocean, where six mermaids seek to protect and save their hidden world.

Deep in the ocean, in a world not so different from our own, live the merpeople. Their communities are spread throughout the oceans, seas, and freshwaters all over the globe.

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be winning the love of handsome Prince Mahdi. And yet Sera finds herself haunted by strange dreams that foretell the return of an ancient evil. Her dark premonitions are confirmed when an assassin's arrow poisons Sera's mother. Now, Serafina must embark on a quest to find the assassin's master and prevent a war between the Mer nations. Led only by her shadowy dreams, Sera searches for five other mermaid heroines who are scattered across the six seas. Together, they will form an unbreakable bond of sisterhood and uncover a conspiracy that threatens their world's very existence.
My initial impression: I'm less than a chapter in, but I can already tell you that so far, I love it and have a great feeling about it. I love mermaid myths and stories, but they are so rarely done well. I got a copy for a friend at BEA, but didn't get one for myself because I could only get one and I was very hesitant because I am so picky when it comes to mermaid stories. But I read a few pages of the copy I got for her and decided to buy myself a copy at Books of Wonder while I was in NYC and was totally thrilled to see they had autographed copies and everything! I'm already very enchanted by the story and the writing. I am so glad I did because I'm so excited about it already! And I don't know if anyone else has noticed this, but Disney Hyperion books must be printed on a different kind of paper because there is a distinct and different smell about their books that I've also noticed with Rick Riordan's books (Heroes of Olympus, Percy Jackson, Kane Chronicles). So naturally, I associate the smell with serious awesomeness. Smell is such a powerful recall tool and in this case, it just gets me really pumped up.


The Burning Sky (Elemental Trilogy #1) by Sherry Thomas

Find it on Goodreads!
It all began with a ruined elixir and an accidental bolt of lightning …

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she's being told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the greatest mage tyrant the world has ever known. A suicide task for anyone let alone a sixteen-year-old girl with no training, facing a prophecy that foretells a fiery clash to the death.

Prince Titus of Elberon has sworn to protect Iolanthe at all costs but he's also a powerful mage committed to obliterating the Bane to avenge the death of his family—even if he must sacrifice both Iolanthe and himself to achieve his goal.

But Titus makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the Bane closing in, he must choose between his mission and her life.


The Perilous Sea (Elemental Trilogy #2) by Sherry Thomas

Find it on Goodreads!
BUY: Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble
(The Perilous Sea will not be released until September 16, 2014, but is available for pre-order through BAM and B&N. Thank you to Balzer + Bray and Harper Collins for allowing me access to an electronic ARC in exchange for an honest review.)
After spending the summer away from each other, Titus and Iolanthe (still disguised as Archer Fairfax) are eager to return to Eton College to resume their training to fight the Bane. Although no longer bound to Titus by a blood oath, Iolanthe is more committed than ever to fulfilling her destiny—especially with the agents of Atlantis quickly closing in.

Soon after arriving at school, though, Titus makes a shocking discovery, one that makes him question everything he previously believed about their mission. Faced with this devastating realization, Iolanthe is forced to come to terms with her new role, while Titus must choose between following his mother's prophecies—and forging a divergent path to an unknowable future.


Guardian (Proxy #2) by Alex London

Find it on Goodreads!
BUY: Books of WonderBooks-A-Million | Barnes & Noble
(At the time this post was printed on 6/20/2014, Books of Wonder still had signed copies available, according to their website! SNATCH ONE UP!)
The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger.

People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned.

This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.


Indelible (The Twixt #1) by Dawn Metcalf

Find it on Goodreads!
BUY: Books of WonderBooks-A-Million | Barnes & Noble
(At the time this post was printed on 6/20/2014, Books of Wonder still had signed copies available, according to their website! SNATCH ONE UP!)
Some things are permanent.

Indelible.

And they cannot be changed back.

Joy Malone learns this the night she sees a stranger with all-black eyes across a crowded room—right before the mystery boy tries to cut out her eye. Instead, the wound accidentally marks her as property of Indelible Ink, and this dangerous mistake thrusts Joy into an incomprehensible world—a world of monsters at the window, glowing girls on the doorstep, and a life that will never be the same.

Now, Joy must pretend to be Ink’s chosen one—his helper, his love, his something for the foreseeable future...and failure to be convincing means a painful death for them both. Swept into a world of monsters, illusion, immortal honor and revenge, Joy discovers that sometimes, there are no mistakes.

Somewhere between reality and myth lies…

THE TWIXT


So those are the next five books on my TBR pile. What are the next five books on yours? Link up below!

xoxo,
Heather


No comments:

Post a Comment